Australia's 3rd Largest Economy

Districts merged to create new Western City District

22-Sep-2017 12:29 | Tracy Dawson (Administrator)

Minister for Planning and Housing, Anthony Roberts, has issued a formal order for the creation of a new Western City District, after the merger of the West and South West Districts.

The new Western City District encompasses eight local council areas from north of the Hawkesbury River to Bargo in the south and west into the Blue Mountains.

Minster Roberts appointed the Greater Sydney Commission’s Deputy Chief Commissioner and Economic Commissioner, Geoff Roberts, as Interim Commissioner for Western City District.

Minister Roberts has thanked the outgoing District Commissioners Sean O'Toole (West) and Sheridan Dudley (South West) for their contribution and commitment to their Districts and their work as Sydney Planning Panel Chairs.

The Minister is also taking the opportunity to rename two of the other five districts within Greater Sydney, to provide greater clarity around their location within the “Three Cities” vision:

  • The Central West District has been renamed the Central City District.
  • The Central District has been renamed the Eastern City District.
  • The North and South districts remain the same.

Find out more about the Western City District here.

Courtesy of Greater Sydney Commission

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software